Does hitting your max mean you should be getting injured?

Getting injured , a sign of good training?? More from The Hype Train

lifter straining

    When I take time to look at something I like to ask questions. I want to know how and why it is what it is. My curiosity goes beyond just wanting to know but wanting to understand every level of it from the small to the grand. To try and fully comprehend all facets of the matter. In understanding my fitness I feel it is in my best interest to remind myself that I know very little. Then I set out and try to learn as much as I can.
So I read a post on a website from an individual who was bragging about how they injured themselves weight lifting and found ways to “train around the injury”. They had it all, lots of injuries, back, knee, shoulder, wrist and probably a few more. They were very pleased with how tough they must have felt. I tried very hard to comprehend what this person was saying and really what kind of advice are they giving to people. I assumed that I knew nothing and tried to learn. But all I could keep thinking of was the times when I injured myself and it was completely avoidable right from the start.
 I pushed harder than I should have and wound up with an injury that would haunt me for months or like in the case with my shoulder….. years. Totally avoidable and sorry to say but no way to “train around”. How do you train around an injury? If by train around an injury they mean avoidance, then okay. Because that’s what I did. When I hurt my knee I didn’t train legs because I would cause more pain and damage. So I just did upper body. When I hurt my shoulder I didn’t train many pressing exercises so I just did back and bi’s  but found that I couldn’t do pull ups. So if somebody wants to call that “training around the injury” then go right ahead.But I call that a setback in my training and essentially what amounts to lost time strictly because I had to bite off more than I can chew.
 It’s either going to be bad form or too much weight that gets you hurt.Bad form can be caused by not understanding the movement or by having limited mobility such as from having very stiff and tight muscles. Bad form also happens when the weight is too much for the lifter and they alter their form in some way to try to “cheat” the weight along. This is improper lifting technique. If you lose proper form then you should consider dropping the weight. In the other case the lifter decides to go heavy and although they are maintaining proper form somewhere along the lift they receive an injury. Usually the lifter suffers a sprain which is quite common and usually heals quickly with rest. The key word is REST. About 2 weeks worth combined with some icing and heating and some light stretching not “training around”.

Other injuries are very serious and happen suddenly and are extremely painful and often debilitating. These injuries are torn ligaments or torn muscles. When you see injuries like this occur it’s because the person completely overloaded there muscles beyond what their body can handle. Put it this way, the sprain you get when lifting too heavy is your bodies way of telling you to back off and if you don’t listen then it’s a tear that occurs. This is just not smart at all. The lifter probably loaded the bar with too much weight too quickly because they felt they were ready to advance further then their body could handle. Never load the bar more than 20 lbs at a time and when you get to really heavy weight it may be nothing more than a pound or even ounces at a time. This way you allow your body time to adapt and if by chance you get a sprain then you know you can not go heavier until you train more. Other injuries can be tendinitis or nerve damage but these are more chronic and even a person who lifts light all the time can suffer these.
The amount of strength and size that you may gain by going heavier than you can handle is not worth the risk of the injury that may occur that will leave you missing valuable workouts. By being more patient and slowly adding weight over time and allowing proper muscle adaptation and more importantly, tendon adaptation, you are giving your body a chance to get stronger and bigger while remaining injury free.
Setting this good habit early in life can lead to excellent gains throughout your life even when you get older. Some injuries occur while young and heal well and completely go away.Others that happen when you get older may never really go away and they will result in loss of strength, size and mobility.
When you think back to the day you were injured and realize that you didn’t make the right choice it’s a tough pill to swallow. Getting hurt does not prove a damn thing other than you couldn’t make the lift. Anyone who would brag and advise people that this is the proper way to train “hardcore” or whatever is just irresponsible and in my opinion a dick.
Weight lifting is supposed to be good for you so don’t get hurt. Enjoy it and definitely push yourself but know and understand your body and allow yourself time to get through your plateaus safely.
Leave a Reply

