As a firefighter I am constantly reminded of…..

As a firefighter I am constantly reminded of just how unhealthy our society really is.

On EMS calls I get to go inside people’s houses and it’s unfortunate , but  I see them at the worse time of they’re lives.

I see  sickness and health issues that are a direct result of living unhealthy lives.These poor souls ignored the warning signs when they were younger and just kept on going as if their actions will never hurt them.

Smoking , heavy drinking, drugs and eating crappy foods lead to a myriad of health issues. Usually where you find one issue you will find many others.

Their homes are full of medications,oxygen bottles,and other medical devices and the conditions around them are deteriorated.

I’m sure reading this is a little depressing and that’s not my aim. My aim is to talk about what it takes to not only be healthy but above average in health.

To rely on chance that your health will remain stout for the rest of your life is foolish and to rely on our healthcare system to make you better is equally as foolish. That’s why it is important to be as proactive as possible with your health.

Health

Health (Photo credit: Tax Credits)

The best thing to do is start off by eliminating unhealthy foods and getting involved in some kind of exercise program. Also go to your doctor and have blood work done and check for any vitamin deficiencies or hormonal imbalances. Once you are aware of these deficiencies or imbalances you can take appropriate measure to mitigate them before they become a problem when you get older.

Another thing to do is while you are young and feeling invincible, stop and think twice and then think again before you take a cigarette from somebody. You think it will be ok for now but think again. I have seen so many people who started smoking when they were young and they just can’t find a way to quit. Now that they are older their addiction is so powerful that even just cutting back a little is impossible. Bottom line on smoking from my point of view is that it will utterly destroy you. Mentally,physically and financially! They make you into a slave and the addiction controls you.

A lot of the unhealthy people who are calling the EMS are  or were at some time heavy smokers. How do I know? Because they tell me. They sometimes even tell me that it is the biggest regret they ever had.

I have the same regret. I smoked in high school and then a few years after for about a total of 10 years. Those are the years that I should have been building my body and my health for adulthood. Thankfully I realized I had to quit and I did. I get tested regularly for my lung function because of the fire service and I am happy to report that I have above 100% lung capacity.

So if you smoke and you truly value your health quit now while you still can and don’t allow the addiction to control you. Be a leader and a fighter and remember the big picture here. Eliminate the negativity from your life and battle for your future!

Leave a Reply

