Another Rant, But Somehow Seem Justified

I’m pissed.

Why? Well it started  last week. I was eating a post workout meal and thinking about food. I was also thinking about sex but I was a little side tracked by the food issue. The meal that day included a sort of salad. It had some kale in it, had some green beans, some lettuce, and bits of bacon. There were diced up SWEET potatoes, cooked with onions. Diced up carrots too.Also some nice chicken. Not fried chicken, just chicken. It was representative of most of the meals, mostly vegetables and meat, some potatoes or rice. Nothing fancy. I remarked to a friend that it would be hard to overeat and get fat on such food. Not that it wasn’t good, it was tasty enough, but it was nothing you would want to go on eating once your hunger had been satisfied. And it wasn’t calorie dense, mostly meat and vegetables. All in all it was pretty damn healthy food.

Then, later that night, I was home  watching TV, and noticing the commercials. I have a weird fascination with commercials , I mean I hate them. I block them out and turn down the volume. I avoid ads as much as possible. But when in the mood I like to analyze them and try to understand how they work. You know, how they actually convince people to buy all the stupid shit the are selling. I always say; “If they have to sell it to you then it’s not worth it to buy.” So at one point, all in a row, there were commercials for Mountain Dew, Kit Kat bars, pop tarts, Pepsi, and frozen pizza. That’s right, 5 commercials, all for shitty sugar filled foods all in a row.

Why do we Americans do this to ourselves? Obesity, diabetes, and just about every other health problem you can imagine that is linked to diet are all sky-high and rising. Yet we continue stuffing ourselves with shitty food. Commercials show smiling kids eating toaster strudel for breakfast in front of proud mothers, pizza pockets for afternoon snacks, and grabbing whatever sugar laden drink is popular out of the fridge to cool down from playing in the yard. What ever happened to just drinking out of the hose??

And I’m pissed about it. I am pissed that people get 4 years of education at some college or university to become a registered dietician, and wont eat a pack of mixed nuts for a snack because of the fat, but would instead pick a pack of “Gummy Bears” that are 100% sugar. I am pissed about seeing people buy “light” yogurt, which has the fat taken out of it then 30 grams of sugar added, and think they are being healthy.

I am pissed that there is not a public outrage about the smiling proud mothers on the TV commercials giving their kids pop tarts for breakfast and pizza pockets for a snack.

I am pissed that when I go to the Super Market on the weekend to buy groceries and eat the free sample, and the lady giving out the little “breakfast bars” that have 1 gram of protein and 30 grams of sugar per serving is telling me how healthy they are cause they are low-fat.

I am just in general pissed off that our modern society is so determined to dig its own grave with our spoons and forks. I am pissed that garbage ,  unhealthy food is so cheap and convenient and available everywhere yet good organic food that is Non- GMO the way nature intended is so frigging expensive. (1 organic pepper is over $2.50) I am pissed that every child grows up on a steady diet of TV commercials pitching them shitty food that will probably eventually kill them. And mind you, that’s exactly who most of these commercials are intended for. Young kids. They are highly susceptible to the messages that the advertiser is sending. They don’t care about adults! We are set in our ways. But kids?? That’s where the money is baby!

Pizza Pockets

Are you frigging serious??

 

 

 

One thought on “Another Rant, But Somehow Seem Justified

  1. Your rant is definitely justified and I am glad you have noticed what is going on. There is a saying somewhere, “with much truth comes great sorrow.” We wake up from our sleep and illusion. The path many avoid but a few enter.

Leave a Reply

