5 x 5

I have recently switched up the program and I am following  a bodybuilding routine designed for hypertrophy. Already feeling a bit nostalgic I wanted to post this 5 x 5 that I was following for a few months. For a few years now I have been concentrating on a few solid 5 x 5 programs that build strength. Any 5 x 5 routine is basically just a heavy weight low rep routine. Although they say it is meant for more strength increase than anything else, if you eat well and stay consistent you will also see some hypertrophy take place.
This routine has you squatting 3 times a week. So the dilemma arises that at some point you have gone up in weight so much that squatting 3 times a week is no longer possible. I reached that point in my training and also just mentally needed a change. The routine I am following now is a bodybuilding routine where I will hit my legs once a week doing a different rep scheme . I will post about that later. Meanwhile if your looking to do some 5 x 5 this routine is a hybrid that also contains some high rep stuff on the bi’s & tri’s for all you guys that just gotta pump those arms.
Mon
squat 5 x 5
Bench 5×5
bent rows 5×5
dips weighted, 5 sets of 10
Wed
Front squat, 60% of monday’s max set 5×5
Dead lift 5×5
standing clean and press 5×5
Pullups 5 sets of max reps
Fri
Squat 5×5
Bench 5×5
Rows 5×5
dips 5 sets of 10
standing ez bar curls 4 sets of 10
skull crushers or tricep pushdowns 4 sets of 10
Leave a Reply

