Wes Piatt, Todays featured athlete

Firefighter, Military Airman, and CrossFit warrior Wes Piatt achieves greatness through fitness.

When the heat is on, the tough get going. Case in point: Heat-blasting firefighter and CrossFit warrior Wes Piatt is a natural-born athlete who got going early with traditional sports. He recalls, “I’ve always been active, I grew up playing football and baseball, surfing, snowboarding, and rock climbing, but never was into the gym scene.”

Piatt eventually marched his way into the gym in military boots when duty called in 2006. “I joined the military with hopes of giving back a sliver to the country that gives us so much, and I began doing the ‘normal gym thing.’” While serving two overseas tours, Piatt crossed paths with CrossFit, and lit his passion for functional training in 2009. “The crew that my crew relieved [from deployment duty] had posted papers explaining CrossFit workouts at the gym on base. My friend Rambo and I tried the ‘Filthy Fifty’ workout. I’ve never looked back.”

Looking forward, the former member of the U.S. Air Force was driven by a burning desire for two new passions— fighting fires and battling in CrossFit competitions. “When I began my transition from military life to firefighting, I took CrossFit with me. At any moment, I could be in a situation where my fitness could save my fellow brothers and sisters, a civilian, or myself. It not only prepared me physically, but I am more mentally tough than I have ever been. I can hold my composure in the worst situations and continue to work when others would fail or quit.”

While heroism is often ascribed to his past and present occupations, Piatt remains grounded— family fans his flames of motivation into an inferno as he blazes his trail toward greatnes

Leave a Reply

